Portals give you more flexibility around how you securely share information and control collaboration with external guests. Portals exist within workspaces, creating an additional layer of control over visibility and access, and they allow external guests to contribute to a workspace without having the same full access as your internal team.
Creating a Portal and adding Guests
Portals are created within workspaces. For more information on creating workspaces, visit the article Creating and Managing Workspaces. There is no limit to the number of portals that can be created in a workspace.
To create a Portal from the Workspace home page, select 'Create' button in the top right corner, followed by 'Portal'.
Alternately, you can open the Portals section in the Workspace sidebar on the left, which gives you an overall view of the portals within that specific workspace. From here you can select the "+" option to create a new portal. If you have never created a Portal in this workspace, you will also have a 'create your first portal' option.
In the Create Portal modal you can title your portal, invite guests, add portal admins, and enable downloading and deleting of feedback. The creator of the portal is a default portal admin.
Note: Downloading must be enabled at the workspace level before it can be enabled at the portal level.
Click Create Portal to create the Portal. You will be taken to the Portal landing page upon creation. To help orientate you to the type of space you are in, the colour scheme of a Portal is different to a Workspace.
Accessing Portals
All recently-accessed portals will be visible from the workspace landing page, and an extensive list can be accessed by opening the Portals section in the workspace sidebar on the left.
For even quicker access, you can pin a Portal to your favourites list. Check out our "Adding and using Favourites" guide for more details.
Managing Portals
Portal Admins can manage portal settings and add additional Guests and portal admins from the portal's settings. The portal settings can be accessed from a number of ways on the Portal's homepage.
All options open the same management modal, which has three tabs: General, Guests, and Portal admins. Each option will default a different tab of the settings.
Settings icon in Portal sidebar on the left - defaults to the General page of the portal settings.
Guests counter on the homepage summary - defaults to the Guests page of the portal settings.
Admins counter on the homepage summary - defaults to the Portal admins page of the portal settings.
Users icon on the top left of the screen - defaults to the Guests page of the portal settings.
Settings icon on the top left of the screen - defaults to the General page of the portal settings.
General settings tab
On the general settings tab you can:
Rename the Portal.
Enable file downloading, if it is permitted by your administrators.
Opt to delete feedback in the Workspace when Portal guests delete their feedback in the Portal. By default, feedback will be retained even when deleted in the Portal itself.
Delete the portal.
Guests settings tab
Here you can add or remove Guests from the Portal, and manage which role they have in this portal (which determines their permissions).
Portal guests are users that have been added to a portal, and whom have limited visibility to other users.
Guests can see:
Other portal guests
Portal admins who have been invited to the portal
Guests can not see:
Your internal workspace members
Guests of other portals within the workspace
Learn more about what Guests can and cannot do within your portal in our Roles and Permissions article.
Portal Admins settings tab
Here you can add members of the parent Workspace as Portal Admins or remove Portal Admins.
Adding files to portals
Portal guests will only see the files that you share with them. New files and revisions uploaded in the Workspace will not be automatically shared to portals; sharing requires explicit action from you. You can choose to share individual or groups of files and have control over which revisions are shared.
There are multiple ways to share files to a portal.
Share an existing file from the workspace
In a workspace, right click on a file or package in Drive and select Share to Portal.
You can also multi-select files, using the 'Select multiple' option, then right-click and select 'Share to portal'.
In the Share to Portals modal, you can select the specific portals you want to share the files with. If your workspace contains multiple portals, you can choose which files are shared with each portal individually. Sharing a file to one portal does not automatically share it with others. Additionally, if you or a guest upload a file to a portal, it will only be visible to that specific portal and workspace.
You can also specify the revisions you want to share. The options available are:
Share latest revisions only.
Share all revisions.
Share selected revisions only.
Next, you can filter the feedback you want to share. Filter options include tags, feedback type, assignee, creator, status, and priority.
🔒 By default, feedback created in the workspace is not automatically shared to a portal, so you can keep your internal conversations secure from guests.
Portal guests will only see feedback created in the portal and feedback explicitly shared from the workspace.
If you have multiple portals in a workspace, feedback created in one portal will not be shared to other portals.
Finally, you'll see a summary of what is being shared. Click the 'Share' button to complete the process.
Add an existing file to the Portal
You can also pull files from workspaces while in the Portal. Click the add (+) button in the portal Drive and select Add File. If the Portal Drive is currently empty, you can also click on the "Upload files" button.
In the 'Add Files to Portal' modal, you can select file(s) from the Workspace.
Uploading new files to the Portal
💡 Uploading files to the portal directly will also upload them to the workspace the portal exists in.
In addition to sharing existing files from the workspace, you can also upload new files directly to the Portal. There are a number of ways to do this.
If you have selected the 'Add files' or 'Upload files' option on the Portal drive, you can then select the 'Upload files' option in the 'Add files to Portal' modal.
Alternatively, there is an upload widget directly on the Portal home page. You can drag and drop files, or select the "Add file" option, in the upload box to upload files directly to the portal.
This follows the same method as our standard file uploads, including for assembly uploads.
Portals and feedback
Feedback added to files in the portal will also be visible to team members in the parent workspace. Feedback coming from, and shared to, a portal will be differentiated with a portal symbol.
Portal guests will only see feedback created in the portal, or explicitly shared from the workspace. You can explicitly share feedback that has been created in the workspace by select the options button (...) on the feedback, and selecting 'Share to Portal'.
Feedback discussion
Portal Guests will only have access to feedback discussions on feedback that is visible within the portal. Your workspace team members can use an internal discussion thread to communicate privately, which will not be visible to guests.
The workspace and portal threads will be separate and differentiated in the discussion tab on each piece of feedback.
If replying to a Portal discussion thread, workspace team members will be alerted that their reply will be visible to guests.
Portals and reviews
Portal admins can create and manage reviews in the portal. These reviews will be visible in the reviews track table at the workspace level. Portal guests will only be able to see reviews created in the portal.
For details on creating a review, check out our "Setting up a review" guide.
Portal guests with a custom role that includes the review creation permission (see custom permissions) can also create and manage their own reviews in the portal. The review creation experience is very similar to the experience a portal admin/team member would have, with a few small differences:
The portal guest will have the ability to select existing review templates available for that workspace level. However, they cannot edit these templates, as they are managed in the workspace settings.
A portal guest cannot delete a review.























