Notebooks are a document file type that can be created and stored in Drive. They can be organized and attached to reviews like any other asset, as well as shared to supplier portals. Use them to capture the written context that surrounds a design such as pre-reads, requirements, decisions, supplier briefs and more.
Creating a notebook
Notebooks can be created directly in a workspace Drive by clicking the 'Add files' (+) button at the top of the Drive panel, and selecting 'Create a notebook'.
They can also be created directly within a folder in the drive, by clicking the 'more options' (...) button on the folder, and selecting 'Create notebook in folder'.
đ It is currently not possible to create notebooks in a portal drive.
Once created, the asset will appear in the Drive and a blank, untitled notebook will open in the viewer. Click anywhere on the notebook to start editing.
Renaming notebooks
If the notebook title is changed, at the top of the notebook, the notebook file is automatically renamed in the workspace Drive.
Editing Capabilities
You can use rich text options to enhance your text formatting in your notebook. Place your cursor on a new line, or highlight any piece of text you have typed, to reveal the editor toolbar containing rich text options.
Keyboard shortcuts can also be used to bold, italic, underline, strikethrough, create bullet lists, numbered lists, and add hyperlinks. Here's a quick guide to the rich text keyboard shortcuts:
Collaborative editing and mentions
Multiple people can add and edit content simultaneously, with unique cursors for each user. You can also tag and notify team members directly within the notebook. Mentions (using the @ symbol) trigger in-app and email notifications depending on user settings, streamlining communication within your team.
When a user opens the workspace drive, they will be alerted if there are any updates on an existing notebook.
Managing notebooks
Notebooks can be managed, and reviewed, just like any other asset in the workspace Drive. Clicking the 'more options' (...) button on the notebook reveals the following options:
Add to Favourites
Open
Open in new tab
Open in split view
Request review
Share to portal
Duplicate
Export to PDF
Export file feedback * (will be added in a later iteration)
Get file link
Move to
Rename
Delete
Notebook version history
Notebooks maintain version history, so you can revisit older versions, compare changes, and restore or revert as needed. Version history can be accessed from the breadcrumbs menu.
Leaving feedback on Notebooks
You can create, manage, and share feedback directly on notebook content. To leave feedback, highlight the notebook text you would like to comment on, and select the feedback action from the editor toolbar.
Note: For tables, it is only possible to leave feedback on text within cells at this time. Applying feedback to an entire table, row or column is not yet supported.
Enter your feedback as usual and click the 'Create feedback' button, or hit enter on your keyboard. This creates feedback tied to that content selection. There will be a pin in the margn of the notebook. Clicking on the pin will show the feedback card, and the text it relates to will be highlighted.
Additionally, the feedback behaves like any other feedback in CoLab. It appears in the feedback side panel, can be assigned/resolved/commented on using existing feedback workflows, and can be opened later to navigate back to the associated notebook content.
The feedback activity captures the text that was highlighted to create the feedback. If that text was later edited or deleted, this will also be captured in the feedback activity.
Note: Deleting reference text entirely will leave the feedback on the notebook, but it will not be pinned to any content in the notebook. Instead, it becomes general feedback, accessible from the feedback side panel.
Sharing to portals
When sharing a notebook to a single portal, you can decide if the portal guests will be able to edit this notebook or not.
Selecting "Share as read-only for portal guests" will prevent all guests from editing the notebook.
Selecting "Share as editable for portal guests" will allow guests with notebook edit permissions to edit the notebook.
Notebooks that are shared to more than one portal will be automatically locked to read-only.
Note: When notebooks are shared to portals, feedback visibility follows the notebookâs portal-sharing configuration.
Exporting your notebook as a PDF
You can export a copy of your notebook to a PDF file by clicking the 'more options' (...) button on the notebook in the drive, and selecting 'Export to PDF'. This will initiate a download of the PDF file.
Permissions
By default workspace admins and full access users can create, edit and delete notebooks. Limited access users can not perform these actions.
Administrators have the following options when creating custom roles:
For custom Workspace roles, administrators can enable/disable permissions for creating, editing and deleting notebooks.
For custom Portal Guest roles, administrators can enable/disable edit permissions on notebooks. Disabling this option means a portal guest cannot edit the notebook, even if it has been shared as editable.













