As a Company Admin, you can manage individual users in CoLab. This guide walks you through the process of creating and managing users in CoLab.
First navigate to the settings page by clicking on the company name on the top left of the screen, and selecting Company & Admin.
Click on the Users section in the left menu. You will see the entire list of users on this page. User-specific information displayed includes the user’s name, email, login type, company role, default workspace role, creation date, and status.
Creating new users
To create a new user, click the '+Add User' button.
A modal will appear for you to enter the user’s email, company role and default workspace role. Click the 'Create' button when finished.
Admin digest email notification
As an admin, you will receive a automated biweekly email indicating the number of users who have been invited in the last 14 days but have yet to accept their invite and sign up for CoLab. If you are an admin of multiple companies, you will receive one email per company.
The email will have a direct link to the user table in company settings, where you can choose to re-invite them, or take another action.
Managing this notification
This email notification is automated and on by default. If you would like to stop receiving these emails, click the 'Unsubscribe' option in the email. This will take you to your notification preferences in CoLab, where you can toggle the notification on or off as you wish.
Note: If you are an admin of multiple companies, this will unsubscribe you from the email notification for all the companies. It is currently not possible to manage these notifications on a per company basis.
Bulk re-invite
When you navigate to the user table from the notification email, you will be taken to the users table in the company admin settings. All relevant users will be preselected and you will be asked if you want to resend an invite email to all of them.
Choose 'Resend invite' to resend an invitation email to the selected users.
If you would prefer review the user list first, click the 'Cancel' option. The relevant users will remain selected in the user table and you can deselect any users you would not like to get an invite reminder. When you are happy with the selections, click the 'Resend account invite' option at the bottom of the screen.
Managing users by status
Users with admin privileges will have an Admin badge next to their name. Only team members can be admins.
Users fall into one of for statuses, each of which is explained below.
Active: the user has created a CoLab account.
Uninitialized: the user has received a CoLab invite but has not created a CoLab account.
Archived: The user's profile that has been deleted, which has archived their account. Reactivating these users requires creating a new user with the same email in the Settings & Admin > Users page specifically.
Deactivated: the user's profile has been deactivated. These users can be easily reactivated.
To manage individual users, use the kebab menu (three dots) to the very right or right click on the user.
For Active users, admins can edit, deactivate, or delete the user profile.
For Uninitialized users, admins can edit, copy the account invite link, resend the account invite to their inputted email, or delete the user profile.
You can also resend invites to uninitialized users in bulk, by selecting multiple uninitialized users. An option to 'Resend account invites' will appear at the bottom of the screen.
For Archived users, admins can edit or delete the user profile.
For Deactivated users, admins can edit, activate, or delete the user profile.
For all of the above, if the user has Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) enabled, you will be able to reset their MFA from this menu as well.
You can edit a user's profile to update their email and roles.
You can search for users using the search bar. To apply filters, click the filters icon and choose filters based on user status, user type, and date created.
Managing your team member limit
Admins can see the number of users on the user management page. To increase your user cap, select the 'Manage team member limits' button.
Note: Increasing your team member limit will affect your subscription.
Users in multiple companies
A user can be added to multiple companies on CoLab, using the same email address, and have different roles in each company. The users table will only show the users for the company you are currently viewing.
Note: Even if a user is already part of another company, adding them to your current company will consume a license/seat for your company
The 'Primary company' column lists the company the user was first added to. This is important because some actions can only be performed in a user's primary company:
Changing the user's email address.
Deactivating the user. Deactivating a user from their primary company will deactivate them across all companies.
Additionally, though a user can be archived on a per company basis, archiving a user in their primary company will archive them across all companies.
Creating new Team Member users from a Workspace
Existing team members can add new team member users to the company by inviting them to a Workspace. Check out our 'Adding users to a workspace' article for full instructions on that workflow.
Company admins can choose to allow, restrict or completely disable this ability. These settings can be found by selecting Company & Admin > Security > Invite Restriction settings.
Creating new Guest users from a Portal
Guest user invites do not affect your Team Member subscription level. Portal Admins can invite new Guest users to CoLab by sending them a Portal invite during Portal creation or from an existing Portal.
Option 1: New Portal
During Portal creation, you can add Guest user emails directly in the Create Portal window. To invite new users, simply add their email in the Guests or Portal Admins dropdown.
Note: To be designated as a Portal Admin, the user must be a team member within the company.
Option 2: Existing Portal
In an existing Portal dashboard, click the Guests option in the summary, or the "Add or view members of the portal" option in the top right corner.
From the Portal Settings modal and under the Guests tab, you can add Guest user email addresses to invite them to the Portal.
Guest restrictions
Company admins can choose to restrict the email addresses that can be added as guest users. This settings can be found by selecting Company & Admin > Security > Invite Restriction settings.

















